Off Topic: Project Natal

I don’t know how many of you have seen or heard about this project Microsoft has been working on, but it’s absolutely amazing.

The technology is going to redefine gaming. It’s so awesome, that it’s honestly hard to even put into words, you must see if for yourself, Project Natal.

I am simply astounded by the things you can do with this, and the applications it can be used for. Being able to scan your own things to be displayed in game. Facial and voice recognition. And from the looks of it, you will be able to have video conferences with people that far extend the capabilities of Skype and the like.

This is the first step into virtual reality, and a great one at that. Just imagine where this technology can take us. The games that are going to be created using this… I can’t even think of. I also imagine you will be able to have a virtual avatar of yourself, so it’s like you really are in the game. Watching yourself run around “cartoonified”, it’s just… breathtaking.

I am not a big console gamer, but with this, I am pretty sure I am going to be soon. This is going to be just obscenely awesome. The applications this has are endless, and I hope to see and experience them all.

~ by tankhealdps on June 9, 2009.

Leave a comment